S.T.E.M. Home

Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

News & Announcements

Sustainability Summit Featured Photo

Sustainability Summit

This program is open for any Macon County student in grades 9-12. Students may stay on site at the Highlands Biological Station. This event is the weekend of February 25-27, 2022

Events Calendar

Mission Statement Image

Mission Statement

Provide an education that leads to productive citizenship and lifelong learning
Located in the scenic southwestern part of the state, Macon County is one of the fastest growing counties in North Carolina. Our county is home to approximately 32,395 full-time residents, and our public schools serve almost 4,400 students. There are eleven schools in the Macon County Schools system.  There are four elementary schools, one intermediate, one middle, and one high school located within an eight-mile radius of Franklin, the county seat.  There are two k-12 schools, one in Nantahala and one in Highlands. Union Academy is a 7-12 school and we have one early college high school. All eleven schools are accredited by the North Carolina State Board of Education.